Newsletter - August 2020

Welcome Back!

Please join me in congratulating our 2020-21 Executive Board.  If you missed the announcement, you can learn about the new board HERE.

This school year will be full of uncertainty and unique challenges.  More than ever, SPC's mission of promoting communication and collaboration between SUSD families and district leadership will help us best serve all our students.

We are excited to have you as an active member of SPC!  We look forward to engaging with you at one of our monthly General Meetings, upcoming special events or on social media!

Please reach out to me with any questions or feedback: president@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org

Emmie Cardella
SPC President

back to top

Executive Board Updates

Programming

Join us as we ‘Return to Learn’ at our first general meeting where we will virtually meet up and see the many new and old faces that will make up this year’s Executive Board and organization. We will also discuss future programs and have a Q&A with our new superintendent, Dr. Menzel.

Please watch for a survey in your inboxes (and on social media) where we will be seeking your input on future programs!

Jill Lassen, jlassen@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org
Ali Robbins, arobbins@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org


back to top

SPC Representatives

Are you interested in being an SPC Representative for your school? Each SUSD school is entitled to have two voting representatives.

As an SPC Representative you will:

  • Attend monthly general meetings
  • Be a voice for your school regarding issues, concerns and share successes
  • Collaborate with other schools and provide communication about programs to your community

If you are interested in representing your school please either reach out to your principal or the Co-VP of SPC Representatives.

¿Está interesado en ser un representante de SPC para su escuela? Cada escuela de SUSD tiene derecho a tener dos representantes de voto.

Como representante de SPC usted va a:

  • Asistir a las reuniones generales mensuales
  • Ser una voz para su escuela con respecto a temas, preocupaciones y puede compartir éxitos
  • Colaborar con otras escuelas y proporcionar comunicación sobre programas a su comunidad

Si está interesado en representar a su escuela, comuníquese con su director o con la Co Vicepresidente de Representate de SPC.

Rachel Feitlinger, rfeitlinger@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org
Rose Munoz (bilingual - speaks Spanish), rmunoz@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org


Advocacy

SUSD Governing Board Candidate Forum

In November, voters within SUSD will elect three new members to the five person SUSD Governing Board. There will be six candidate on the ballot.  SPC is planning a virtual candidate forum, moderated by Wayne Schutsky of the Scottsdale Progress, for late September.  Stay tuned for more info!

Important Election Dates & Information


Register to vote at www.servicearizona.com or check the status of your ballot at www.BeBallotReady.Vote

Facebook Group

Stay up-to-date on all things Advocacy by joining our Facebook group, “SPC Advocacy for all students in SUSD”

Holly Davidson, hdavidson@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org
Pamela Smith, psmith@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org


Outreach

We know that these are unprecedented times and understand that access to information is critical. Our goal is to ensure that all stakeholders stay connected. First on our list is making sure we have access to you. Please reach out to us with any questions or concerns.

Free and Reduced meal applications

The application for Free and Reduced meals is available online. Visit SUSD’s Nutrtion services page at www.susd.org/meals.

Lulu Faraj, lfaraj@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org
Kyra King, kking@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org


Communications

Have questions about school re-opening? Take a look at the District's Return to Learn Plan and Frequently Asked Questions resources or reach out to your principal for campus specific questions.

Be sure to follow us on social media to stay informed about upcoming meetings and events.

Brad Duell, bduell@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org


Treasurer

The Executive Board approved a budget for the 2020 Fiscal Year. View it HERE.

Megan Prince, mprince@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org


Committee Updates


Social Responsibility


We are excited to announce that SPC has created a new special committee called the Social Responsibility Committee. The Social Responsibility Committee is committed to investigating best practices among SUSD schools to reduce and prevent bullying and harassment. The group will share recommendations of experts that address and prevent bullying, with a focus on parent education about preventative actions to take, and also how to address bullying and harassment at home and with the school. Committee recommendations will be shared with SPC membership and if agreed upon by SPC Representatives, presented to the SUSD cabinet and governing board.


We would like to set up an initial meet and greet for members in order to discuss the foundation for this committee and create an action plan moving forward.


If you are interested in joining the Social Responsibility Committee please use this link to sign up: HERE.


Lisa Kanarish, lkanarish@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org

Karen Gifford, kgifford@scottsdaleparentcouncil.org


Special Education


With the beginning of the school year upon us, many parents new to SPED have questions and concerns. Experienced SPED parents would like to support you!  If you are interested in connecting with an experienced SPED parent as you navigate this new school year, email Larissa Beckstead at issybeck@gmail.com.   Experience SPED parents that are interested in being a mentor to a new SPED family can also contact Larissa to be added to the mentor list.

back to top

This email was sent to emmie.cardella@gmail.com. If you are having trouble viewing this email, you may also view it online. To opt out of all communications, click here.
Forward email. .
Email Marketing By